Fiesta…….Quinoa style!

Have you ever found yourself in front of your pantry, door open, staring aimlessly at all the cans…shaking your head and saying…”nothing SOUNDS good…”? Then you wander over to the fridge, open the door, look at your eggs and say, “oh heck no…” then you wander back to the pantry and again…look at all the same stuff again…oatmeal catches your eyes…”really? for lunch?” Some days are less inspired than others for sure. I nearly succumbed(which wouldn’t be terrible) to just going with a Fat Stripping Frappa…but then, I remembered…although it is May 19, the temperature feels more like February 19. That is when my eyes landed on the little bag of sprouted quinoa.

2015-05-19 14.58.27

I have had this bag for a few months. I have also NEVER made quinoa here at home. I have prepared it at work and cannot say I am a huge fan. But, it has protein and is supposed to be good for you..so the thought process began. Should I make just one serving…no. I have been wanting to try some of the quinoa recipes in the Trim Healthy Mama book anyway. So, I made 4 servings the recipe on the package called for. Now, comes the balance of trying to make this an E meal…this means between 20-45 carbs, 5 gr fat with a solid protein source. And here is what I came up with! OLE!

Fiesta Chicken Quinoa

1/2 cup prepared quinoa

1/4 cup rinsed black beans

1/4 cup no sugar added salsa

1/4 cup white chicken meat

1 Tablespoon of Shredded cheddar

sprinkle of garlic and onion powders

Combine all but cheese  and after sprinkling on cheese, microwave for 30 seconds or until cheese melts!

2015-05-19 14.12.06 2015-05-19 14.14.58

This was so filling I cannot even tell you! Would be great with a couple of the Trader Joe’s baked blue tortilla chips! No room left to have any fruit with it but seriously delicious!

Now, I am sure that others have probably tried this combo…surely, I can’t be the only one…but today…I am patting myself on the back for two things…filling lunch and…I have finally found a use for quinoa!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

