The truth about gaining..and losing weight. (the lies we believe)

It seems as though I have been on some form of diet for most of my life. When I look back to my sophomore year in high school, I remember my drama coach telling me, as I tried on my costume for a solo, that I would be so pretty if I just lost a lot of weight. I weighed 152 pounds. That, was 40 years ago. 40 years. And I still remember that comment as though it were just yesterday. Today, I would give anything to weigh 152 pounds.

Romeo and Juliet aka Lori and Greg 1977

Romeo and Juliet aka Lori and Greg 1977

It is so funny how little comments like that can have such an impact on one’s life. I come from a family riddled with anorexia and bulimia and other drastic forms of losing weight (some which shall remain nameless). I was one of the few in my family that didn’t resort to drastic measures…unless of course you call overeating drastic..and let’s face it, it IS an eating disorder! I was always made fun of by others..today we would call it bullying…about my weight. I tried as far back as I can remember to lose weight. And I did. The funny thing is ….by today’s standards…I was really just where I needed to be. Only no one would let me believe it. That is the curse of our society. Trying to make others believe that they are less in order to make yourself feel better. We are all guilty of it in some form or fashion. And thus begins a yo yo, roller coaster ride to obesity for me. Lose 10 pounds, gain 20, have children, gain 70, lose 30 …blah blah blah….

It has taken me 40 years of dieting and illness and research and experience to finally get to where I am now. I don’t care so much about the number anymore. I want to be healthy. I want to eat good, real food. I want to enjoy good, real food. I want to leave a legacy of modelling that for my family. Sounds easy, right? Wrong!

Today’s world is full of fake food. Read a few labels. Can you pronounce all of the words? Do you know what that stuff is? How much of the food in your cupboards are boxed, bagged, preserved?

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of diet plans on the market today. We are all looking for that easy answer, that magic plan, that golden ticket. But here is the simple truth…it doesn’t exist. What got you to where you are today, is eating too many empty calories without enough real nutritionally dense foods. Period. Want to blame it on someone? Look in the mirror. Want to have someone fix it? Look in the mirror. This is going to require some extra work on your part. I realized as soon as I cut out most processed foods that I had to become the PROCESSOR! A little extra time in the kitchen will pay off! But it won’t be easy..it will be worth it! **shout out to my mom, dad, and grandparents who were the processor before there WAS processed foods!

It really is about you. No one else. Just do it!

I am currently about 40 pounds away from where I would like to be, somewhere around the point where I was when I was told I was fat. But that number doesn’t daunt or haunt me anymore. I am choosing to eat real foods and trying to keep my blood sugars stable. I am eating good fats, healthy fats, you know the ones that we have been told for decades will kill us…coconut oil, butter, lard and the like? Turns out they were wrong. Our grandparents knew that..they didn’t process their food into forms that were one molecule away from plastic(i.e. margarine). They ate bacon, eggs and butter and yes, even raw milk! (now outlawed in many states including my own) God gave us all we need for our bodies to heal themselves. We have screwed it all up royally.

I want to encourage you that you can make a difference in your own life. I want to encourage you to look in the mirror and believe that you are worth fighting for. I want to tell you that it is because of YOU that you are where you are. I want to encourage you to join me in the journey to get back the plunder that the devil has stolen from you. I want to encourage you NOT TO BLAME any diet, any person, any budget, any circumstances for where you are. Step up. Ask God to help you be all that you can be. Eat the foods that He provided. Stop eating processed foods. Eat fruits and vegetables and meat. Cut out white sugar and white flours. Moderate your gluten intake. Eat REAL foods. Eat LESS CRAP! Stop buying into the standard American Diet…S.A.D.

There are two sisters who have written a book called Trim Healthy Mama. I have learned a lot from this book. One of the coolest things I have learned is that the guidelines are there in the Bible for what we should eat. And while I am still struggling with the “sweetener” issue, there are other options than white sugar…like coconut sugar for example. I am reading and gleaning a lot of good solid info here and I am down about 25 pounds. Today, I am having my husband hide the scale. It is only a number.

TRUTH

TRUTH

So here is the truth about gaining, losing and gaining and losing…only you can change it. Believe that God wants you to be healthy and whole and I am pretty sure He would like it if your food was healthy and whole as well. Join me on this journey and commit to making it happen. Not for anyone except that person you see looking back at you when you gaze into a mirror. The answer does not lie in a pill or a diet, but in changing your lifestyle. Eat better food, move more..and remember to play!

Let’s do this!

2 thoughts on “The truth about gaining..and losing weight. (the lies we believe)

Leave a Reply

